Eldredge Park History
The history of the Firebirds franchise is intrinsically interwoven with the history of the Town of Orleans, particularly with the creation and continued improvements of our beloved Eldredge Park. Established in 1928 as a Cape Baseball League team, the Firebirds (previously known as the Sparklers and Cardinals throughout the years) established themselves as a major league caliber team with the late 1960s improvements to Eldredge Park.
Eldredge Park, originally constructed in the early 1911, only one year following the creation of Fenway Park in Boston, became the park we know as a “Norman Rockwell painting come to life” with major park renovations starting in 1966. Between 1966 and 1967, the Town of Orleans allocated $30,000 for improvements to the park, including construction of the bandstand, tennis courts, picnic areas, and the relocation and reorientation of the baseball diamond.
The 1967 CCBL All-Star Game was the scene of the dedication of the “New Eldredge Park”, with Massachusetts Governor John Volpe and dozens of NBL scouts attending the grand opening of the park. Today, Eldredge Park is recognized in the Orleans Historical Properties Survey and the Massachusetts Historical Commission, paying homage to the 106 year journey that has created one of the most iconic ballparks on Cape Cod and the team that calls it home.
Read more here: